Full Site View
Quick Links
  My Bulletin
  Contact The Bulletin

Mail: Southern statues symbolize suppession

Mail: Thanks for helping Aiden

More opinion

Ag News

Fall: Good time to spray musk thistle in rosette stage

Robertson and Delsing re-elected chair, vice chair of NWB

More Ag News

NorthPlatte Weather

Email Article | Print Article
News - State/Regional News
Positions open on Nebraska tourism commissionTell North Platte what you think

With the passage of LB 222, the Nebraska Tourism Commission is being re-structured and there are now 11 spots on the commission to fill.  According to the bill, seven of the positions will be filled with people directly employed in the tourism industry and four will be from non-tourism professions.

The state has been divided into 11 districts to better represent the state’s tourism industry, with one representative selected from each district to serve a four-year term.

The Nebraska Travel Association is helping to reach potential candidates for the commission. 

“We are excited to have this opportunity to have the Tourism Commission be represented by a variety of tourism professionals as well as those from other professions,” said Todd Kirshenbaum, Chairman of NETA. “The Tourism Commission is a vital entity to market our state’s tourism assets and a commission that represents state-wide viewpoints of Nebraska’s third largest industry will be great for everyone in the Tourism industry.”


The following district appointments will serve through April 1, 2019:

• District 1 - Douglas County.

• District 6 - Butler, Polk, Platte, Merrick, Nance, Boone, Madison, Pierce, Antelope, Knox, Holt and Boyd counties.

• District 11 - Deuel, Garden, Sheridan, Cheyenne, Morrill, Box Butte, Dawes, Sioux, Scotts Bluff, Banner and Kimball counties.


The following district appointments will serve through April 1, 2021:

• District 2 – Lancaster.

• District 5 - Saunders, Washington, Dodge, Colfax, Stanton, Cuming, Burt, Thurston, Wayne, Cedar, Dixon and Dakota counties.

• District 7 - Thayer, Nuckolls, Webster, Adams, Clay, Fillmore, Seward, York, Hamilton, Franklin and Harlan counties.

• District 10 - Furnas, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Dundy, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dawson, Perkins and Keith counties.


The following district appointments will serve through April 1, 2023

• District 3 - Richardson, Pawnee, Nemaha, Johnson, Otoe, Gage, Saline and Jefferson counties.

• District 4 - Cass and Sarpy counties.

• District 9 - Lincoln, Keya Paha, Rock, Brown, Loup, Blaine, Custer, Logan, McPherson, Arthur, Grant, Hooker, Thomas and Cherry counties.

To apply for one of the positions, go to https://governor.gov/board-comm-reg by Aug. 31 to be considered. The governor will make his selections which will then be approved by the Legislature.

For information on the programs of the Nebraska Tourism Commission, go to www.visitnebraska.com.


Like this story to send to your facebook

The North Platte Bulletin - Published 8/16/2017
Copyright © 2017 northplattebulletin.com - All rights reserved.
Flatrock Publishing, Inc. - 1300 E 4th St., Suite F - North Platte, NE 69101
Show me Talk Back during this visit