Full Site View
Quick Links
  My Bulletin
  Contact The Bulletin

Mail: Southern statues symbolize suppession

Mail: Thanks for helping Aiden

More opinion

Ag News

Fall: Good time to spray musk thistle in rosette stage

Robertson and Delsing re-elected chair, vice chair of NWB

More Ag News

NorthPlatte Weather

Email Article | Print Article
Sports - Local Sports
Dillenburg cruises to victoryTell North Platte what you think

Competing for the crown jewel brought best efforts to the forefront during Lincoln County Raceway Championship Night at North Platte on Saturday.

Punching their ticket to the winners circle with victories was Andrew Dillenburg, Terry Dressel, Casey Werkmeister, Tyson Canas and Zach Olmstead.

Gaining experience behind the wheel of IMCA Modifieds, Andrew Dillenburg of North Platte snared the lead in the final corner to win the Feature event.

Leading the way for the opening laps of the main event was Dave Pedersen of Brady before a miscue cost him the lead in the waning laps. Pedersen recovered quite nicely to finish second overall.

Staying out of trouble and running a loose and fast racecar, North Platte’s Terry Dressel lead the final two laps to drive to the IMCA Northern Sport Mod Feature win.

Dressel held the lead during the second and third laps before settling into the runner-up position for much of the event.

Putting on a dominating performance for much of the race was Bryan Herrick of Curtis who garnered the lead on lap four and held the point until lap 18. Herrick would cross the stripe in second place overall.

McCook hotshoe Paul Donovan finished third overall with a stellar drive through traffic.

Coming from the back of the pack was Maywood’s Casey Werkmeister to win the IMCA Stock Car Feature.

Werkmeister got the lead near the halfway point and never looked back. Casey’s brother Kyle Werkmeister of Maywood took home the runner-up honors on Saturday.

"Mr. Consistency" Bob Hoing of Overton took the point on the fourth lap and enjoyed his run with clean air as the leader for numerous laps in the middle of the feature. Hoing held on for a podium finish in third place overall.

Finishing his rookie season at Lincoln County Raceway in fine fashion, Tyson Canas of Cozad had a sweep in the Hobby Stock division.

Canas won the heat race, cash dash and feature events. Brady Weinman of Arnold crossed the finish line in second place. Loomis veteran Chuck Ledbetter showcased his talents behind the wheel in driving his hot rod to third place accolades.

Overton’s Zach Olmstead was in the right place at the right time to drive past brother Jacob Olmstead for the lead on the final laps of the IMCA Sport Compact Feature to earn the victory.

In their initial events behind the wheel of a racecar, Charlie Blowers and Justin Mousel; both of Arnold were second and third in the feature event.

Unofficial Results

--IMCA Modified Feature: 1. 4p-Andrew Dillenburg; 2. 71-Dave Pedersen.

-Heat: 1. 4p-Dave Pedersen; 2. 71-Andrew Dillenburg.

--IMCA Northern Sport Modified Feature: 1. 13-Terry Dressel; 2. 0-Bryan Herrick; 3. 1-Paul Donovan; 4. 848-Troy Douglas; 5. 12j-Kerry Jones; 6. 11h-Henry Henderson; 7. 53dc-Dalten Collins; 8. 17-Rodger Morash; 9. 18-Brent Gibson; 10. 7-Jeremy Halouska.

-Heat 1: 1. 53dc-Dalten Collins; 2. 17-Rodger Morash; 3. 1-Paul Donovan.

-Heat 2: 1. 7-Jeremy Halouska; 2. 3-Gary Long; 3. 52p-Brandon Poessnecker.

-Heat 3: 1. 0-Bryan Herrick; 2. 13-Terry Dressel; 3. 848-Troy Douglas.

--IMCA Stock Car Feature: 1. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 2. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 3. 09h-Bob Hoing; 4. 45-Mikey Dancer; 5. 75-Dan Eller; 6. 24-Bob Chalupa; 7. 31-Darin Racek; 8. 17s-Don Schweitzer.

-Heat: 1. 42w-Kyle Werkmeister; 2. 24w-Casey Werkmeister; 3. 24-Bob Chalupa.

--IMCA Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 7t-Tyson Canas; 2. 22w-Brady Weinman; 3. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 4. 44u-Kyle Baumgardner; 5. 7s-Scott Gibson; 6. 22-Austin Davis; 7. 65-Rick Eller.

-Heat: 1. 7t-Tyson Canas; 2. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 3. 22w-Brady Weinman.

--IMCA Sport Compact Feature: 1. 98z-Zach Olmstead; 2. 3-Charlie Blowers; 3. 3m-Justin Mousel; 4. 22e-David Earhart; 5. 67-Alex Fletcher; 6. 33-Andrew McClellen; 7. 88j-Jacob Olmstead.

-Heat: 1. 98z-Zach Olmstead; 2. 3-Charlie Blowers; 3. 22e-David Earhart.

Like this story to send to your facebook

The North Platte Bulletin - Published 8/12/2013
Copyright © 2013 northplattebulletin.com - All rights reserved.
Flatrock Publishing, Inc. - 1300 E 4th St., Suite F - North Platte, NE 69101
Hide Talk Back
Login to post Talk Back

Click on the cop Report Talk Back Abuse to report Talk Back abuse and misuse