Full Site View
Quick Links
  My Bulletin
  Contact The Bulletin

Mail: Southern statutes symbolize suppession

Mail: Thanks for helping Aiden

More opinion

Ag News

Robertson and Delsing re-elected chair, vice chair of NWB

Goat Expo set first October weekend

More Ag News

NorthPlatte Weather

Email Article | Print Article
Sports - Local Sports
Post-season honors handed to college players, coachTell North Platte what you think

Ben Wilson, Ethan Montalo and Reath Jiech have all been named to the 2012-13 Nebraska Community College Athletic Conference All-Conference Team, and Head Coach Kevin O’Connor is the coach-of-the-year.

Wilson was named All-NCCAA first team and was the leading vote getter. He led the Knights to a perfect 6-0 record in NCCAC play while averaging 10.4 points per game, 5 rebounds per game, 1.7 assists per game and 1.1 steals, while shooting 44 percent from the field and 38 percent from the three-point line.

The sophomore is a repeat selection; he was named All-NCCAC second team a year ago.

Montalvo was named All-NCCAC first team as well and was the second leading vote getter.

The freshman is the Knights leading scorer at 15.5 points per game and is second on the team in rebounds (4.9 rpg), assists (2.4 apg) and steals (2.7 spg).

Montalvo averaged 2.6 three pointers a game and leading the team with 79 treys. He shot 39 percent behind the arc. Montalvo also leads the team in free throw percentage at 82 percent from the charity stripe.

Jiech was named All-NCCAC second-team after helping the Knights to the NCCAC championship. The sophomore is second on the team in scoring with 11.2 points per game. He also contributes 3.5 rebounds per game and 1.2 steals per game.

Jiech had season highs in points and rebound against NCCAC foe Central Community College with 22 points and 8 rebounds. For the season Jiech shoots 42 percent from the field and 36 percent from the three-point line.

Coach O’Connor was named the NCCAC Coach-of-the-Year after leading the Knights to their second consecutive NCCAC Championship and eighth in the last nine years.

During his career, O’Connor has won 14 conference championships in 28 years at the college. This year he guided the Knights to a 25-5 regular season record and a 6-0 record in conference play.

The 25 regular season wins is third-highest in program history for a regular season, trailing only the 1989-90 when O’Connor coached team that finished the regular season 27-3 and the 1972-73 Doug Schakel coached team that finished the regular season 26-8.

The honorees:

NCCAC first team

Ben Wilson - North Platte CC

Ethan Montalvo - North Platte CC

Dequan Thomas - Southeast CC

James Spencer - Central CC

David Plain - Central CC

NCCAC scond-team

Tony Dobbinson - McCook CC

Tyron Crisswell - Central CC

Reath Jiech - North Platte CC

Carl Swallow - McCook CC

Trey Porter - Southeast CC

NCCAC honorable mention

Tyrell Corlew - Southeast CC

Antwaun Boyd - McCook CC

NCCAC Coach of the Year

Kevin O’Connor - North Platte CC

Like this story to send to your facebook

The North Platte Bulletin - Published 3/3/2013
Copyright © 2013 northplattebulletin.com - All rights reserved.
Flatrock Publishing, Inc. - 1300 E 4th St., Suite F - North Platte, NE 69101
Show me Talk Back during this visit